OMA 2000 Millennium Batch donates to Alma Mater

The 2000-year batch of Jasikan College of Education popularly referred to as the Millennium batch of OMA has once more donated to their former College. This time the group adopted, renovated, tiled, and handed over the dining hall of the College at a cost of GHC43,000.

To celebrate this great feat, the group recently organised their second homecoming to mark and celebrate their 20 years of completing teacher education and to give back to their alma mater, what the College also invested in them decades ago.  

At their first homecoming in 2017 to donate a set of sports equipment to the College, the group observed with regret how the dining hall has become dilapidated with dusty floors over the years, due to its continuous use for all programmes of the College. The group used the opportunity then to levy members both home and abroad to renovate the dining hall.

In a colourful durbar held on the 3rd of October, 2020 to hand over the tiled dining hall to the college administration, the Principal of the College, Dr. Daniel Kwasi Hammond praised the OMA 2000 batch for the kind gesture and described the OMA 2000 project as the greatest in the annals of the College history. He gave a good account of the academic record of the College and appeal to OMA in general and 2000 batch in particular to come and help the College with a fence wall to prevent encroachment on the College land.

The group President who was also the College president in 2000, Sedzro Leonard Esq, who handed over the project to the College on behalf of the group, praised his executives and the unity that exists in the group.

The group also used the homecoming to elect new executives who will steer the affairs of the association for the next 4 years. The new executives are; Wilfred Kanda- President, Ms Dorcas Delali Kwao -Vice President, Yayra Afram (Ph.D.) – Secretary, Ms. Alima Yussif Vice Secretary, Mrs. Florence Antwi Boasiako – Organizing Secretary, Ms. Philomena Danso-Mensah – Financial Secretary, and Ms. Lilly Charlotte Ahiafor as Treasurer.  

Present at the durbar were the Principal of the College and his administrative staff, the College teaching staff, Rev. John Donkor, the 1999 batch College President and a handful of first-year students.

Report by:

Yayra Afram (PhD)

Secretary OMA 2000


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: