The Annual Colleges of Education Quiz competition organized by the Teachers Fund of GNAT, has entered the Zonal stages, with competitions taking place in the Volta, Central and Western regions over the weekend.

Four competitions, two in each zone (Volta/Oti Zone, Central/Western Zone) were organized with cash awards and sets of books at stake as prizes. 

Competing Colleges in the Volta/Oti Zone A which was hosted by St. Teresa’s College of Education included the host St. Teresa’s College of Education, St. Francis’ College of Education, Jasikan College of Education and Dambai College of Education. 

After four grueling rounds of contest, St. Francis’ College of Education emerged the winner with fifty (50) points, Dambai College of Education came second with forty-five (45) points, St. Teresa’s College of Education with Forty-Four (44) points was third with the fourth position going to Jasikan College of Education with Thirty-Seven (37) points. 

The Volta/Oti Zone B competition was between Akatsi College of Education, Government College of Education (GOVCO) Peki, and Holy Spirit College of Education. 

At the end, Akatsi College of Education won the Zone B competition with Sixty-Seven (67) points followed in second position by Government College of Education Peki with Fifty-five (55) points and Holy Spirit College of Education third with forty-four (44) points. 

Volta/Oti Zone B was hosted at Ho by Holy Spirit College of Education.

The Central Zone was hosted by Komenda College of Education with Fosu College of Education and Ola College of Education being the other competing Colleges. 

Holy Child College of Education in Takoradi was the battle ground for the Western Zone colleges, Enchi College of Education, Wiawso College of Education and the host Holy Child College of  Education. 

The Ashanti/Brong Ahafo and Norther Zones are scheduled to organize their contests between Saturday 14th and Sunday 15th of December, 2019.  

Contesting colleges in the Ashanti/Brong Ahafo Zone A are; Wesley College of Education, St. Louis’ College of Education, Akrokeri College of Education, Agogo College of Education, Offinso College of Education.  Wesley College of Education will be the host for all the colleges in Zone A.

Ashanti/Brong Ahafo Zone B has the following colleges competing; St. Ambrose College of Education, St. Joseph’s College of Education, Berekum College of Education, Atebubu College of Education, St. Monica’s College of Education and Mampong Technical College of Education. St. Joseph’s College in Bechem will host the Zone B contest. 

Owing to the upcoming District Assemblies’ elections, the Eastern/Accra Zone contests originally scheduled for the 21st and 22nd December 2019 have been rescheduled for the second week in January 2020.

The Quiz competition by the Teachers Fund serves as part of the Fund’s education drive amongst students of Colleges of Education across the country. 

It serves as an avenue to educate and inform students about the operations of the Fund as well the benefits members enjoy when they join the Fund. 

It is to position students to make informed choices and decisions when it comes to the choice of a union once they leave school and get employed. 


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: